Musings…Reflections…Thoughts by TK

My life. My journey. My version. The way I see it.

Deutschland…on a Positive Note August 28, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — thoughtsbytk @ 5:47 pm

My friend Kristen posted today on Facebook about the things she will miss when she moves away from here. This has inspired me to do the same since I spend so much time complaining about things. So here it goes (and in no particular order):

  • Rolladens
  • Bakeries
  • Roundabouts
  • No litter on the streets
  • Kebaps
  • Clean, manned public restrooms (its worth having to pay to use them!)
  • Beautiful green rolling hills
  • The sales tax being built into the prices of everything
  • Not being rushed out of restaurants (the table is yours for the night)
  • Our house. It’s a great house.
  • Traveling around Europe. I’ve been to some amazing places.
  • The genuine German cuisine
  • Vented windows
  • Adjustable height shower heads
  • Huge bathrooms
  • In floor heating
  • Stone streets
  • Pedestrian zones (walkplatz)
  • Christmas markets
  • Crepes
  • Mandatory quiet hours at night
  • Flowers in the window sills
  • Beautifully kept yards
  • the Danish furniture store
  • Felix’s first teacher, Mrs. Mayfield
  • Festivals and festival food
  • Beer (this one is for Julls, I don’t like beer!)

I’m sure there’s more but that’s a pretty good start. I could probably make a list about the states about what I miss that’s far longer but the whole point here is to focus on what is positive about the experience here. I want to leave Germany with a fondness in my heart for the place and a want to return some day.

Something else I will remember fondly is the friends I have made here. The people who taught me things about myself and the world, who gave me a different perspective and who challenged me to be a better friend, mother and wife. Maybe we will even be in the same place again one day, but in the mean time, they will definitely be missed.

 

Leave a Reply

