Musings…Reflections…Thoughts by TK

My life. My journey. My version. The way I see it.

Shot in the head August 9, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — thoughtsbytk @ 7:57 pm

I got a referral to physical therapy for my neck. Basically the guy had me get on the table and threw me around like a rag doll cracking everything that can possibly crack, but within 2 days, everything was all better. Pretty awesome. I can now just go in whenever for random adjustments when needed. Hooray, no more stiff necks for me!

Headaches….I’m sure I’ve mentioned that I’ve had recurrent headaches almost daily for like 9 months now. If I haven’t before, I just did. So I’ve had an MRI and that was normal. The neurologist at Landstuhl doesn’t think I’m having migraines, he said they are tension headaches and they are making my occipital nerves inflamed. The cure? 2 shots…in my fucking head dude. Not even kidding. It’s called an occipital nerve block. Its been several days and I can see a major improvement but it’s not quite cured. I’ve been 3 days with no pain meds though, so I can live with that.

We met with the EFMP coordinator and decided to go ahead with the reassignment request. We’ve been getting paperwork filled out by various providers and will have all of our ducks in a row and be ready to submit our package to the assignments folks at AF headquarters at the end of the month. It’s scary and exciting. Only God knows what will come of that right now, so I’m trying not to stress about it.

Speaking of stress, I think my depression meds are kicking in. I’m leveling out emotionally and not feeling so overwhelmed and out of it. I feel like I can think straight and handle things right now and its hugely a relief. I probably should have been on something a lot sooner.

Fiona is now walking all over the place. She never crawls anymore. I truly never thought we would get here, and especially not before she was 18 months. I’m so proud of her progress and thankful to have gotten her some help when we did. She’s such a special girl.

And Felix? My big boy turned 5 a few days ago. I can’t believe that I have a 5-year-old. He changed my world for sure. I’ll forever be head over heels for my boy.

My birthday is coming up on Friday. I can’t believe I’m going to be 31. We have plans to eat at our favorite German restaurant, Bit Stuben, as a family and Kim will join us. I’m looking forward to that a lot. I’m looking forward to a lot of things…big things coming our way…no matter what happens, I am going to have to try to remind myself that God knows what he is doing and I will try to be patient in the mean time.

 

Leave a Reply

