Musings…Reflections…Thoughts by TK

My life. My journey. My version. The way I see it.

You let them do what!! July 21, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — thoughtsbytk @ 3:15 pm

The looks people give me when I say “Oh no, let her fall, she will figure out that what she’s doing” are evil. I’m a bad mom. I let my daughter fall 18 inches to the floor to teach her that the chair she is climbing on has edges. I let her learn. I’m an awful mother.

In an ugly world where everyone is scared to let their kids play outside or play football, I let my kids have freedom…dirty looks and all. It’s because I don’t think the world is a ton worse than it always was, we just have the internet to spread word of it farther and faster. Danger is everywhere and I refuse to let my kids live in a padded room and douse them with hand sanitizer every 20 minutes because I’m scared they will catch a cold.

People do everything for their kids these days. They don’t spank them because its “child abuse”, they don’t make them do chores around the house so they never learn independence or responsiblity. It’s no wonder teenagers are running around and getting pregnant and trying to raise babies while their parents are still raising them. Nobody is teaching kids independence and responsibility. Nobody is letting them learn that their actions have consequences. Nobody is letting them mature. Getting hurt, getting sick, not getting your way…all these things are part of growing up and by over-protecting our kids we are not allowing them to become self-reliant adults that can take care of themselves when it’s time to spread their wings and go out in the world.

I don’t believe in the asian “Tiger Parenting” method either where you break your child’s self-esteem down to nothing so that they will do everything you say and perform every task with perfection, but I do believe in making your children aware that you do have expectations and that you do believe that they can accomplish whatever they put their mind to.

“Progress” isn’t always progress, and some good old-fashioned parenting techniques were right on I think and its time we take a look at where we’ve gone in this society where nobody takes responsibility for themselves, everything is everyone else’s fault and nobody things about anyone but themselves and ask the question, how did we get here? Then we need to figure out how we are going to get out of here. It all starts at home, with the kids. Who do you want your kids to be?

 

Disclaimer: I’m not a great mom, just a lady with ideals. I’m not always good at putting them to play in real life, but I’d like to be better at it and I’m always trying to improve. I just wish other people would do the same.

 

One Response to “You let them do what!!”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    Well said!!!


Leave a Reply

