Musings…Reflections…Thoughts by TK

My life. My journey. My version. The way I see it.

A death makes history May 3, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — thoughtsbytk @ 10:37 am

I woke up to see new stories pop up on my favorite websites then went to Facebook to see that an announcement was made last night after I went to bed. Many of my Facebook friends knew about it already and I read through their posts. While some were amusing, some were crude, and some were solemn, I started to cry.

I cried because it felt like something grand had happened, but it also hit me what we as a nation, and as military families have sacrificed to get here. I also cried for what we don’t know will happen because of it. Retaliation. It’s terrifying.

I’m thankful that my husband is at home with me right now, and not deployed. I complain almost daily that he drives me insane. And he does. But at least I have him here to drive me insane. I know that killing one terrorist won’t change the game. But it does change something. For some people. And that’s important. It’s been said that there’s no such thing as closure for the victims of the 9/11 attacks. I have to believe that this validates things for some of them regardless.

I’m sitting here watching and waiting to see what happens next in this thing. I’ve even started to chuckle a little at the jokes people are posting online about Bin Laden’s death. Got to keep your sense of humor about things right? When it’s appropriate to do so of course. Right.

 

Leave a Reply

