Musings…Reflections…Thoughts by TK

My life. My journey. My version. The way I see it.

Fiona News April 4, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — thoughtsbytk @ 12:52 pm

We had Fiona’s appointment with the EDIS folks, and she, like Felix will qualify for some services to help bring her Developmental delays up to par. She’s still not attempting to pull up and stand. I can pick her up stand her up at the coffee table where she will hold herself in place for a bit before plopping down on her butt however she’s not doing it herself, which puts her way behind as most kids are walking independently by this age.

Here’s my girl once I’ve stood her up:

Yes she looks a little distressed…because she is. This standing this is not for her which is stressing me way out. Unlike Felix, she had a normal birth and I can’t imagine why she’s having any problems. The results of her evaluations show that she’s delayed in the gross motor and communication areas. Gross motor = standing/walking at this age. She’s also not talking which I’m less worried about right now, since she’s just 13 months. Apparently she’s supposed to have 2-3 words in addition to mama and dada. Right now she only has Mama and she uses it sparingly.

We have a follow-up meeting for her later in the week to go over her IEP and I will also keep you updated with the results of that once it happens.

On a side note I have to say that being someone of high IQ who comes from a background of successful people, never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d have kids with developmental issues. But I will tell you, that it doesn’t change a damn thing about the way I feel about them. I love them more than anything else in the world, they are my reason for being. I do feel however like I’ve somehow let them down. Like I did something wrong along the way. All I want is for my kids to be successful in life. I know how hard and rough the world can be and  want to protect them, shield them from all the ills they may face. I know I can’t save them from hardship, but I suppose I’ll always want to.

 

Leave a Reply

