Musings…Reflections…Thoughts by TK

My life. My journey. My version. The way I see it.

Free Haircut!! March 17, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — thoughtsbytk @ 3:50 pm

I decided to cut Felix’s hair. It was way too long and out of control. I hate taking him to the barber shop on base, and paying 9 bucks every 3-4 weeks for a kids cut. Make that 11 bucks with the tip. I’m cheap. Well, ok, not really. But I can think of a lot of other ways I’d rather spend that money for him, like trips to Cascades.

So I bust out the clippers and guards and when I plug them in and turn them on, Dear Lord, the most awful sound comes from them. It’s like 1,000 angry bees are stuck inside and fighting to get out. Felix freaks out  and I freak out and off they go. I think that’s the sound they make when ready to spontaneously combust. We’ve had those since Julls and I got married so I chucked them and went to the BX for new ones.

Clippers have come a long way in 6 years! These are nice and lightweight and ended up doing the job quite well. I had Julls bring me the canister vac and I got the hair up off the floor, then I had a thought. What about the tiny hairs stuck to my kid? They will be all over the house! Tracy just came over and cleaned this morning! No no no. Can’t have hair all over my house. So I took the wand off the vacuum hose, turned the suction power down and proceeded to vacuum off my kid. All over his head, back and forth, then the neck and ears…then basically head to toe.

He was delighted in all the fun of it and I was delighted not to have tiny hairs all over my house. Over all? I’m happy with it. I did pretty good for a total amateur. What do you think? Oh yeah, and did I mention the new clippers were $22? One more haircut and they will have paid for themselves 🙂

Before:                                                                      After:

            

 

One Response to “Free Haircut!!”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    Great Job Mom!!!


Leave a Reply

